Search Engine Optimization

What is Search Engine Optimization (SEO)? Sounds rather complicated to me. Wikipedia defines it as the process of affecting the visibility of a website or a web page in a search engine’s “natural” or un-paid (“organic”) search results. In other words, where in search engine ranking your website is listed in relation to searchable keywords.

There are A LOT of factors that go into optimizing a website for search engines. The amount of information I have found so far is overwhelming. Inbound links, outbound links, PageRank (PR), choosing keywords, and much more.

Where does a small business owner like myself with little SEO experience begin? Well a nice article to start with is “10 SEO Tips For Beginners”. This article takes you through the basics of SEO and explains each aspect for you to understand. Having a proper understanding of how SEO works goes a long way in preparing your website for the search spiders (web crawler).

SEO is going to be an ongoing process for any small business owner. It seems the way websites are ranked change on a routine basis. Knowing the latest information is key to keeping your website “search friendly”.

I’m no expert on this. Just passing along information as I find it. Being a small business owner is difficult task. Having a little help along the way is always a good thing.

About Domenic Marchetti
I'm beginning the transition of working in the Emergency Medical Services field to providing business services. I have started my own business called RI Business Services. This is my story as I go through the steps of trying to get myself established in this new field.

4 Responses to Search Engine Optimization

  1. paulbrodie says:

    A few months ago I started to focus more on building my blog platform. I read a little bit about SEO but decided I’d work on developing a theme and content before I tried to learn SEO. I’ve been thinking lately that I should probably start learning more about SEO now. It probably would have been good to put the time into it a few months ago, but I was worried that I’d come across sounding fake in my posts if I was overly worried about making the SEO stuff work. I’m going to check out the link you offered. Thanks!

  2. Here’s an SEO tip for this blog site, change the tag line from “a topnotch wordpress.com site” to something that you want this blog site to be found for on the search engines.

  3. Pingback: Search Engine Optimization | domenicmarchetti

Leave a Reply

